Blog Comments

Comment #1:

Dedicated to First-Year Student Me: Thriving in Your First Year at SEU by Barbara Nixon

Nick says:

“Spiritually – get connected to a local church body and go to chapel

Socially – try sitting at a table in Tuscana with people you do not know and get to know them over breakfast, lunch, or dinner

Academically – think ahead/ space out your workload

Overall, I would say the key words are balance and discipline. Know what you have to do and when it needs to be done by. At the same time, plan to take study breaks to do something fun and meet new people. Some good ways to do this are by playing on an intramural team, attending sports games, going to SBLC events, and seeing what others in your dorm are up to. Also, it is important to plan your time with God. Look for times that your schedule allows for you to find a quiet place to read your Bible and pray.”

Comment #2:

Writing for Digital Media by Ben Herrman

“These are some great insights! I like how you noted that your reading audience for digital writing can potentially be the world. It’s great to know that our writing can be responded to by people who come from many different world perspectives. This helps us have a global perspective while we are here in Lakeland. I completely agree with “Do not start arguments or fights on the internet.” I feel like this happens on social media sights a lot, and it is just so counterproductive to resolving any issue. On the other hand with blogging, I think it is important to intelligently respond when someone challenges something you believe in. It is important to do so with grace, humility, and maturity. This is why I think it is also great that you should be bold but should think before putting a thought out there for all to see.”

Comment #3:

Speak up. Sing out. Let Your Voice Be Heard.” by Mikelle Liette

“The upcoming 2012 election will be the first one in which I am eligible to vote. I have never been in to politics, but over the course of this next year I am sure I will be thrown into what’s going on. These were some good insights into what is currently going on. You can tell that you looked into what kind of candidates they are. Before reading this, I had heard these candidates names before, but I did not know what kind of candidates they are (with the exception of Mit Romney because he is a former governor of my home state). What are the political backgrounds/experiences of these candidates? Who is looking to be more qualified than the others.”

Comment #4:

Finally- A “Brand” Merger in Media” by Katye Hanlin

njtedeschi | October 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Great analogy to introduce people to the purpose of Storify, it kind of reminded me of when I took art in high school and was required to do a mixed media piece. You use all sorts of art materials to put together one picture for people to enjoy. It’s sort of the same way with a story on Storify. You pull out all sorts of elements, and sometimes even ones which you may not normally use, to share something valuable for the reader.

It’s great how Storify cuts out all the extra work in journalism like getting in contact with someone for an interview, having a photographer take pictures for you, or having someone film an aspect of your story. On top of that, it is all cited for you. I really like how you said it is still important to make sure what you are putting across to the reader of your story is credible. In addition to this, I think it’s important not to be sloppy in how we craft all the elements together. You did a great job capturing how valuable Storify is!”

Comment #5:

“Commentaire de blog? Oui! Oui!!” by Josh Nelson

“First off, I love your picture that you included in this post! Second off, this post has changed my life! In all seriousness, I really enjoy your style of writing here. You made four great, simple points. Point 3 is definitely an important one because, whether we admit it or not, there is always someone out there smarter and wiser than us.
I also like how you include a video at the end of all your posts. It shows that you don’t take yourself too seriously. It tops off all that your reader learns with a little fun.”

Comment #6:

TED Talk by Eli Pariser: Beware online “filter bubbles” by Barbara Nixon

Nick says:

“I agree with what he was saying to a certain extent. I definitely think it’s important that the internet is able to inform us on what is going on throughout the world, both the good and the bad. I didn’t know that Google shows different results for each person. On the other hand, If we make a search specific, then we will be able to find anything. In the case of Facebook, I think it is convenient to have filters because it helps you to narrow down what you want to see. Eli said that his conservative friends were no longer coming up on his news feed, but the simple solution would be to just make a list of conservative friends so that they are only a click away.”

Comment #7:

Dull speech topic? Spice it up!” by Elizabeth Telg

njtedeschi

Thanks for sharing these great tips! Stories help people relate to you. I guess you could say they bring you down to the audiences level. I like how he notes that your story should compliment your topic. Random stories are fun but they are of no benefit if they don’t help the audience remember the points. I also appreciate the fifth point because it is very boring when someone just gets up, reads only their bullet points, and says nothing more.

Comment #8:

Citizen Journalism” by Melanie Shoults

njtedeschi

While I don’t want to be a journalist after graduating, I would love to be able to witness an unexpected event and report it to people like Janis Krums did. That’s what is so great about facebook and twitter. News can get out so fast with the capability of connecting to social media through a cellphone. I agree that a person needs to be careful of what they say. For example, if I saw an accident, I wouldn’t make up a story and say someone died, but I may post something and state the obvious, such as the fact that it is causing traffic.

Comment #9:

How to: Perfect Your Portfolio” by Rachel LaFlam

njtedeschi

November 18, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Great post! For us as students, half the work of putting a portfolio is getting out there and accomplishing things. I know for myself it can be difficult at times to identify varying strengths and skills, but I like how you mentioned the necessity for examples of varied but specific skills. An online portfolio is a great idea. Thanks for providing a check list as well!

Comment #10:

The Key to It All!” by Johnny Fernandez 

njtedeschi says:Your comment is awaiting moderation.

I pray that I don’t have to apply to a fast food restaurant after graduating college. These are some humbling yet encouraging words. It takes effort and work to keep pursuing what God has called us to. I think that if we put in the effort and are faithful in working hard to try to acquire something, God will be faithful to us and see to it that we end up in whatever job we need to be in, even when there’s that someone that outshines us. Thanks for the good tips and the reminder to keep pressing in and working hard!

Professional Blog Comment #1:

Third Tuesday is Back for Movember” by Joseph Thornley

October 13, 2011

“I love how such a simple fun thing can catch on so much for a good cause like this. It’s really amazing seeing the growth of it on those charts. Social media is a powerful tool in working to make a difference in this world. I saw a couple of my Facebook friends liked Movember, but I didn’t know it was something that raised money for such a good cause. Thanks for the information! If I was anywhere close Canada, I would check it out. Maybe it will spread to different places in the United States soon.”

Professional Blog Comment #2:

How to Get Started With Google+, Your Complete Guide” By 

October 14, 2011

“Thank you for the thorough guide! I’m all signed up to Google+. I’m looking forward to seeing how I like using it compared to Facebook. I think it’s interesting how with the latest Facebook changes lists were added. It does half of what circles do by letting you view certain people’s updates. You still cannot limit which friend see certain content. It will be interesting to see if Facebook goes in that direction. I’m also interested to see how much it catches on now that anyone can join without an invitation. Sparks looks like it will be a very useful tool on Google+.”

Professional Blog Comment #3:

12 irritating social media words and phrases” By Marjorie Clayman

“I have to agree with @jsexton on lol, very rarely does that person actually laugh out loud. How you wove #3 in with #2 almost made me lol. In regards to @kadeeirene thoughts on #3, if you are showcasing knowledge you do have, then it’s not faking it.”

Professional Blog Comment #4:

12 common mistakes on brands’ Facebook pages” by Justin Rondeau

“My brother opened up a gelateria/cafe this summer, and I tried to help him with utilizing some social media. I didn’t realize a lot of this. We would always try to post something every day and I never thought about how that could be bothersome to a fan. I guess it’s a good thing there were days we just didn’t get around to it. Sometimes it would be something significant like a special or a deal we had going, but all too often it wasn’t anything significant. We also connected Facebook to Twitter to make it easier on us–wrong move. Thanks for the great tips!
I would love to here what you think we should change or do differently. Here is the url:http://www.facebook.com/NudoGelateria

Professional Blog Comment #5:

25 annoying communication habits–of other people” by Susan Young

Kristen Wiig’s character Penelope on SNL is a great example of #15.
When it comes to face to face communication body language is key. Give eye contact. I have a mumbling problem at times, but it I’ve learned that it is important to put the effort in and make sure I am speaking clearly and periodically pause in order to allow others to interject with their thoughts.

Professional Blog Comment #6:

What Are Infographics and Why Are They Important?” by Daniel Adams

Nick Tedeschi October 24, 2011

This is a very informative article on infographics! I learned a lot from it. I thought your last point was a great one. If infographics do not have varifiable information, then they loose their meaning and just become a piece of art.
I love the examples too; the creativity in them is outstanding! What do most people use when designing infographics

Professional Blog Comment #7:

“Bloggers Have More of an Influence in 2011” by Deirdre Breakenridge

Those are some cool hobbies to have as a kid! I’m not really sure what category I fall under because I am currently blogging as a requirement for a writing for digital media class that I’m in. Being introduced to the blogosphere in the class these past few months has helped me to see the value of blogging. I definitely agree with you that blogs help to get an inside view, deeper perspective, and more insight on a subject or topic. One of my favorite aspects of blogs is that anyone can view content of whatever it is they are interested in from a professional and it’s completely free. I’ve learned a lot and I know that if I follow blogs I am interested in I will continue to learn more. I will probably even become a hobbyist blogger after I complete the class I am in. It will be interested to see how blogging continues to grow.

Professional Blog Comment #8:

Thank you for the helpful tips Heather! It sounds very stressful. I agree with Rochelle. It sounds like a lot of it has to do with people’s laziness and selfish motives, especially when you talked about how people gave you info on their product but didn’t incorporate it into the context of best practices for a launch on Facebook.

Professional Blog Comment #9:

Who Are You Teaching Today?” by Shonali Burke

Great post; you’re passion for what you do is very evident! I especially appreciate this as a student. That course you are teaching sounds very interesting. I am currently involved with a non-profit and I hope to be working for one once I graduate. My girl friend’s dream is to do PR and vision advancement for non-profits when she graduates. Is there any content online that you could refer me to that covers some of what you teach in that course?

Professional Blog Comment #10:

How Content Motivates Behavior” by Lisa Gerber

NJTedeschi

This is a great topic to write about when you have nothing to write about haha. I would add to it that even if only half the people who participate end up donating, awareness is still being raised with more participants. When awareness is raised, then more people will end up donating. To my knowledge women can’t participate in Movember, but when suddenly their husband wakes up with a mustache after a few days, they start to think about it more and even talk about it with others who could then get involved or donate. I definitely agree that it is important to get creative and fun while not loosing the seriousness of the content.

Leave a Reply

